What Benefits Will the Kindle Paper white have over other Kindles?

As usual, I’ll start out simple: the Paperwhite is better than the Kindle.

After we think about the Kindle family, what we are managing is really a series of gadgets that continues growing and evolve so as to suit the needs of its customers. First, there was the Kindle and its successors, then the Kindle Fire developed upon that idea as a simple to work with, Internet-ready portable gadget. The Kindle Fire is definitely an all-purpose life style peripheral that encompasses The web, cultural output, social media and more and is arguably one of the best such device in its price range.

The Kindle Paperwhite, on the other hand, is the return to the simple, basic (some might say ‘noble’) intentions of that original Kindle. The Paperwhite is an eReader, nothing new, nothing excluding.

After a significant quantity of research (including all the usual writers, online threads and magazines which you’re no doubt knowledgeable about by now), I chanced upon the website of blogger C.G.P Grey, who had written by far the best elegant, enlightening and purchaser-friendly review of this Paperwhite that I’ve read. I’ll cite it extensively here, but, if you wish to buy a Paperwhite, I suggest you check out the whole blog. Grey states,

“I used to read a lot, but as I aged and gained responsibilities, books became less central to my life. When I moved to a new city with a poor local library that was just a little too far out of the way my habit of reading died a silent death – and it took more than a year before I even realized. Then, one day, it hit me: ‘I’ve forgotten about reading. I need to fix this’. My local library wasn’t going to move any closer to my apartment, so I looked into getting a Kindle and settled on the non-touch, D-pad version. Access to books was no longer a problem, and my reading went up. But not by a lot. Why? I loved my new Kindle and, reading my first book on it, The Diamond Age was a joy. But my optimal reading time is just before bed and, though the D-pad Kindle’s screen was great, its low contrast made night-time reading, even with an Anglerfish-style book light, difficult”.

I believe we could all relate to the dilemma above. So, what advantages does the Paperwhite have over its predecessors? Well, for a beginning, there’s the reading light. Grey states,

“The paperwhite has achieved what I thought impossible: an illuminated screen that doesn’t blast light in you eyes. The effect is as though there’s a magic lamp in the room that only shines evenly across the Paperwhite’s screen. In comparison the D-pad Kindle’s screen looks hopelessly low contrast with its dark gray text on light green-gray background.”

It is true, the principle gain this new Kindle has over its elders may be the screen. A better display is principal to a healthy eReader and, although just about everything else is tweaked and improved in practise (principally the Internet connectivity) much of this could perhaps are better anyway by the release of a basic update.

However, we could say the Kindle Paperwhite is more resilient, faster plus much more intuitive than the old Kindles and genuinely does signify an improvement on its family tree.

Elsewhere, the lack of a ‘page turner’ button feels like a step backward at first, especially if you see your Paperwhite like a spiritual successor to your bookshelf. This is principally because the Kindle’s ‘page button’ was an ideal psychological substitute for the pleasure of the tangible page turn. It also does not help that the Paperwhite’s Touch Screen is slightly more sensitive, hence, you may sporadically turn a page unintentionally, but let us not forget that physical readers (if they’re anything like me, that is) regularly drop their books and thus lose their spot in it.

There are numerous other improvements too. A great one, also pointed out by Grey, stands out as the counter that estimates just how much time is left on each chapter based on your aggregate reading pace. Now that is improvement!

Leave a Reply

